#OneForAllAllForTheClimate

#theteam

WE ARE SPORTS FOR FUTURE!

We are Sports for Future: athletes, sports clubs and associations, fans and supporters. 

What drives us? The climate crisis. It is one of the most pressing societal problems of our time, and it affects us all.

We asked ourselves: Where does sports stand in all of this? With its power to move, inspire, and unite people all over the world. In short, we believe there's so much more that can be done. Together. As a team. One for all, all for the climate.

What do we stand for? For a fair, respectful, and fact-based culture of debate. For solutions based on the insights of international science. For the preservation of our livelihoods – also as a prerequisite for our health and sports.

OUR BOARD

Stefan Wagner (Chairman)
Claudia Fischer (Vice-Chair)
Barbara Wagner (Treasurer)

Our team

Antonia Böckmann (Communication and Project Manager)
Nele Hermes (Project Management)
Jannik Meinberg (Social Media Management)
Johannes Völkerding (Social Media)

#history

How it all began

With an urgent appeal for the preservation of our livelihoods, we have gone public with Sports for Future 2019 in order to contribute to the climate debate with a prominent and relevant voice. This alliance of athletes, clubs, associations and other supporters is taking a clear stance, facing up to the responsibility that sport must assume as one of the important pillars of society, especially because sport itself contributes to the climate crisis.

The idea, born on the initiative of the Bundesliga football club TSG Hoffenheim, is brought to life by a network within the sports world. The initiators include Bundesliga football clubs SV Werder Bremen, VfL Osnabrück, the German Sports Youth (dsj), Global United FC e.V., Fabian Hambüchen (gymnastics), Anni Friesinger (speed skating), Holger Nikelis (wheelchair table tennis), Sebastian Polter (football), Jacqueline Otchere (pole vault), Lutz Pfannenstiel (football), and TSG 1899 Hoffenheim.

Sports for Future, as a movement for an entire industry, operates as a registered non-profit association with a clearly defined agenda. "We want to bring sport together, challenge it and pool its strengths in order to take a clear stance. We are committed to a rational, science-based implementation of the Paris Climate Agreement, a future worth living for young people and future generations, a fair, respectful culture of debate, solidarity and a social team spirit," explains Stefan Wagner, co-founder of Sports for Future e.V.

Based on this foundation, Sports For Future is dedicated to launching its own initiatives, supporting projects, increasing knowledge, and strengthening sustainability, climate protection, and democracy. To achieve these goals, Sports For Future relies on partnerships, including those with the Cologne Business School, the Climate Arena in Sinsheim, and other educational institutions.

#sportsforfuture

This is us

Stefan Wagner

Chairman
  • At Sports for Future since: 2019 (founding member)
  • Otherwise: Sustainability consultant and CEO at Wagner CSR
  • Favorite sports: Football, Volleyball
  • My drive: Sport can change the world.
  • Contact: stefan@sportsforfuture.de

Claudia Fischer

Vice-Chair
  • At Sports for Future since: 2019 (founding member)
  • Otherwise: Latin and German teacher at Gymnasium Lohne
  • Favorite sport: Dancing
  • My drive: Gemeinsam können wir etwas bewegen – ich möchte als Teil von Sports for Future daran mitwirken.
  • Contact: info@sportsforfuture.de

Barbara Wagner

Treasurer
  • At Sports for Future since: 2019 (founding member)
  • Otherwise: Editor and CEO at Wagner CSR
  • Favorite sports: Table tennis, Handball
  • My drive: #strongertogether
  • Contact: barbara@sportsforfuture.de

Antonia Böckmann

Communication & Project Management
  • At Sports for Future since: 2022
  • Otherwise: –
  • Favorite sport: Handball
  • My drive: "Moving great things together."
  • Contact: antonia@sportsforfuture.de

Nele Hermes

Project Management
  • At Sports for Future since: 2023
  • Otherwise: Assistant to the CEO
  • Favorite sport: Football
  • My drive: "Working together for sustainability. Sport unites, sport mobilizes. Worldwide."
  • Contact: nele@sportsforfuture.de

Jannik Meinberg

Social Media Management / Communication
  • At Sports for Future since: 2022
  • Otherwise: Ticketing Manager
  • Favorite sports: Football/Basketball
  • My drive: "Embrace change as an opportunity for a climate-just future."
  • Contact: jannik@sportsforfuture.de

Johannes Völkerding

Social Media / School Partnerships
  • At Sports for Future since: 2022
  • Otherwise: Student at Gymnasium Lohne
  • Favorite sport: Football
  • My drive: „Nachhaltiges Denken im Breiten- und Profi-Sport zum Selbstverständnis machen und die Reichweite des Sports genau dafür nutzen.“
  • Contact: johannes@sportsforfuture.de
#strongertogether

Our Network

We believe in teamwork, and we are many: associations, clubs, athletes, educational institutions, companies, fans. Our network, ranging from handball player Steffen Weinhold and TC Dinklage to Schafhof Connects and Sportfive, GKS Holdorf and Gymnasium Lohne, Team Malizia and the Forest Green Allgäu to SV Waldhof Mannheim and the German Football Association (DFB), already represents more than 25 million athletes. We all share one goal: a climate-just future in which sports also need to contribute their part. Our annual network meetings showcase how diverse the sports community is in addressing various sustainability issues. If you want to become actively involved and be a part of our network, sign our statement and / or get in touch with us directly at: info@sportsforfuture.de

Our initiators

#OneForAllAllForTheClimate

#highlights

Our milestones

today

2023

2022

2021

2020

2019

Established in 2019

#EinerFürAlleAlleFürsKlima

#dasteam

WIR SIND SPORTS FOR FUTURE!

Wir sind Sports for Future: Sportlerinnen und Sportler, Sportvereine und -verbände, Fans und Fördernde. 

Was uns bewegt? Die Klimakrise. Sie ist eines der drängendsten, gesamtgesellschaftlichen Probleme unserer Zeit. Und sie betrifft uns alle.

Wir haben uns gefragt: Wo steht dabei eigentlich der Sport? Mit seiner Kraft, Menschen auf der ganzen Welt zu bewegen, zu begeistern, zu vereinen. Eben: Wir finden, da geht noch viel mehr. Zusammen. Als Team. Einer für alle, alle fürs Klima.

Wofür wir uns einsetzen? Für eine faire, respektvolle und sachorientierte Debattenkultur. Für Lösungen auf Basis der Erkenntnisse internationaler Wissenschaft. Für den Erhalt unserer Lebensgrundlagen – auch als Voraussetzung für unsere Gesundheit und den Sport.

Unser Vorstand

Stefan Wagner (1. Vorsitzender)
Claudia Fischer (2. Vorsitzende)
Barbara Wagner (Schatzmeisterin)

Unser Team

Antonia Böckmann (Kommunikations- und Projektmanagerin)
Nele Hermes (Projektmanagement)
Jannik Meinberg (Social Media Management)
Johannes Völkerding (Social Media)

#historie

Wie alles begann

Mit dem eindringlichen Appell für den Erhalt unserer Lebensgrundlagen sind wir mit Sports for Future 2019 in die Öffentlichkeit getreten, um uns mit einer prominenten und relevanten Stimme in die Klimadebatte einzubringen. Dieses Bündnis aus Sportler*innen, Vereinen, Verbänden sowie weiteren Unterstützerinnen und Unterstützern bezieht deutlich Position, stellt sich der Verantwortung, die der Sport als eine der wichtigen Säulen der Gesellschaft übernehmen muss, gerade auch deshalb, weil der Sport selbst zur Klimakrise beiträgt.

Die auf Initiative des Fußball-Bundesligisten TSG Hoffenheim geborene Idee wird von einem Netzwerk aus der Welt des Sports ins Leben gerufen und umgesetzt. Zu den Initiatorinnen und Initiatoren zählen der Fußball-Bundesligist SV Werder Bremen, Fußball-Zweitligist VfL Osnabrück, die Deutsche Sportjugend (dsj), Global United FC e.V., Fabian Hambüchen (Turnen), Anni Friesinger (Eisschnelllauf), Holger Nikelis (Rollstuhl-Tischtennis), Sebastian Polter (Fußball), Jacqueline Otchere (Stabhochsprung), Lutz Pfannenstiel (Fußball) und die TSG 1899 Hoffenheim.

Sports for Future als Bewegung einer gesamten Branche arbeitet als eingetragener gemeinnütziger Verein, dessen Agenda klar umrissen ist. „Wir wollen den Sport versammeln, ihn fordern und seine Kräfte bündeln, um deutlich Position beziehen zu können. Wir setzen uns ein für eine rationale, auf der Wissenschaft basierende Umsetzung des Pariser Klimaabkommens, für eine lebenswerte Zukunft der Jugend und nachfolgender Generationen, für eine faire, respektvolle Debattenkultur sowie für Solidarität und einen gesellschaftlichen Teamgedanken“, erklärt Stefan Wagner, Mitbegründer des Sports for Future e.V..

Auf dieser Basis machen wir es uns zur Aufgabe, eigene Aktionen zu starten, Projekte zu fördern, Know-how zu erhöhen sowie Nachhaltigkeit, Klimaschutz und Demokratie zu stärken. Dafür baut Sports for Future auf Kooperationen, unter anderem mit der CologneBusiness School, der Klima Arena in Sinsheim und weiteren Bildungseinrichtungen.

#sportsforfuture

Das sind wir

Stefan Wagner

1. Vorsitzender
  • Bei Sports for Future seit: 2019 (Gründungsmitglied)
  • Und sonst: Nachhaltigkeitsberater und Geschäftsführer bei Wagner CSR
  • Lieblingssportarten: Fußball, Volleyball
  • Mein Antrieb: Sport kann die Welt verändern.
  • Kontakt: stefan@sportsforfuture.de

Claudia Fischer

2. Vorsitzende
  • Bei Sports for Future seit: 2019 (Gründungsmitglied)
  • Und sonst: Lehrerin für Latein und Deutsch am Gymnasium Lohne
  • Lieblingssportart: Tanzen
  • Mein Antrieb: Gemeinsam können wir etwas bewegen – ich möchte als Teil von Sports for Future daran mitwirken.
  • Kontakt: info@sportsforfuture.de

Barbara Wagner

Schatzmeisterin
  • Bei Sports for Future seit: 2019 (Gründungsmitglied)
  • Und sonst: Redakteurin und Geschäftsführerin bei Wagner CSR
  • Lieblingssportarten: Tischtennis, Handball
  • Mein Antrieb: #strongertogether
  • Kontakt: barbara@sportsforfuture.de

Antonia Böckmann

Kommunikations- & Projektmanagement
  • Bei Sports for Future seit: 2022
  • Und sonst: –
  • Lieblingssportart: Handball
  • Mein Antrieb: „Gemeinsam Großes bewegen“
  • Kontakt: antonia@sportsforfuture.de

Nele Hermes

Projektmanagement
  • Bei Sports for Future seit: 2023
  • Und sonst: Assistentin der Geschäftsführung
  • Lieblingssportart: Fußball
  • Mein Antrieb: „Gemeinsam für Nachhaltigkeit einsetzen. Sport vereint, Sport mobilisiert. Weltweit.“
  • Kontakt: nele@sportsforfuture.de

Jannik Meinberg

Social Media Management / Kommunikation
  • Bei Sports for Future seit: 2022
  • Und sonst: Ticketing Manager
  • Lieblingssportart: Fußball / Basketball
  • Mein Antrieb: „Den Wandel als Chance begreifen – für eine klimagerechte Zukunft“
  • Kontakt: jannik@sportsforfuture.de

Johannes Völkerding

Social Media / Schulkooperationen
  • Bei Sports for Future seit: Februar 2022
  • Und sonst: Schüler des Gymnasiums Lohne
  • Lieblingssportart: Fußball
  • Mein Antrieb: „Nachhaltiges Denken im Breiten- und Profi-Sport zum Selbstverständnis machen und die Reichweite des Sports genau dafür nutzen.“
  • Kontakt: johannes@sportsforfuture.de
#strongertogether

Unser Netzwerk

Wir setzen auf Teamwork. Und wir sind viele: Verbände, Vereine, Sportlerinnen und Sportler, Bildungseinrichtungen, Unternehmen, Fans. Unser Netzwerk – vom Handballer Steffen Weinhold und dem TC Dinklage über Schafhof Connects und Sportfive, die GKS Holdorf und das Gymnasium Lohne, das Team Malizia und die Forest Green Allgäu bis zum SV Waldhof Mannheim und dem DFB – repräsentiert bereits mehr als 25 Millionen Sportlerinnen und Sportler. Uns alle verbindet ein Ziel: eine klimagerechte Zukunft, zu der auch der Sport seinen Teil beitragen muss. Unsere jährlichen Netzwerktreffen zeigen, wie breit der Sport mittlerweile zu verschiedensten Nachhaltigkeitsthemen aufgestellt ist. Wenn auch Du aktiv und Teil unseres Netzwerks werden möchtest, unterzeichne unsere Stellungnahme und / oder nimm direkt Kontakt zu uns auf: info@sportsforfuture.de

Unsere Initiator*innen

#EinerFürAlleAlleFürsKlima

#highlights

Unsere Meilensteine

heute

2023

2022

2021

2020

2019

Gründung 2019